25 December 2011

Little Highlights on Cricket World Cup 2011

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup was the tenth Cricket World Cup. It was played in India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh. It was Bangladesh's first time co-hosting a World Cup. The World Cup was also due to be co-hosted by Pakistan, but in the wake of the 2009 attack on the Sri Lanka national cricket team in Lahore, the International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to remove Pakistan from the hosting countries.
All matches in the World Cup were accorded One Day International status, with all matches being played over 50 overs. Fourteen national cricket teams competed in the tournament, including ten full members and four associate members. The World Cup took place between 19 February and 2 April 2011, with the first match played on 19 February 2011 with co-hosts India and Bangladesh facing off at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka. The opening ceremony was held on 17 February 2011 at Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka, two days before the start of the tournament, with the final on 2 April 2011 between India and Sri Lanka at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.
India won the tournament, defeating Australia in Quater finals, Pakistan in Semi-Final and Sri Lanka in Final by 6 wickets, Smartly Chased the Target of 265 in the final in Mumbai. India to win a World Cup final for the second time and the first nation to win a World Cup final on home soil, India's Yuvraj Singh was declared the man of the tournament.

No comments :

Post a Comment